Fitness Starts in the mind

I completed the Cleveland Half-Marathon a couple of weeks ago with very inconsistent training. I took the course gently and slowly, but with a plan in mind. I knew exactly what my capabilities were and I stuck to that pace per mile even when my adrenaline wanted me to go faster. Throughout the entire run, I kept talking to myself positively and married the thought of completion. A few years prior, I did the same half-marathon with very little training. That was one of the only half-marathons I had difficulty completing. The irony of being in the same circumstances a few years later was on my mind. I didn’t allow myself to own the fear of an exact repeat. In the end, I completed the race about 3 minutes slower than I had wanted to, but I finished it without injury and completely satisfied. While I would never recommend doing a half-marathon without the proper training, I did want to share this story for another reason. When it comes to fitness goals, I would like to underscore the importance of a healthy mind. In this instance, it was my mind that ran this race, not my legs. I look back upon all the life choices I have made over the past 5 years and every single instance began first with supporting the journey through my mind.

Take quitting smoking, for example… I tried to quit using aids like drugs, patches and gum. Each attempt was unsuccessful. If I somehow managed to quit for a short time, I was back at it a couple of weeks later. The difference between all of those times and this time where I have been smoke free for 5 years is that I was ready in my mind to make the change. I had a mindset to quit and then I adopted that through permanent life changes. I visualized my new life by saying, “I am not a smoker. I am now a runner.” Anytime I wanted a cigarette, I would run. I essentially replaced a bad habit with a good one.

Now, I am finally understanding how my mind can be a significant tool for success or an incredible detriment if unharnessed. Today, I still struggle with eating right and exercising regularly. So, now that I’ve understood that my mind can be the root to my success, I am visualizing my success. I am pouring my heart and soul into whole food / clean eating and sharing it with others. I want to bring the joy back into eating, but in a healthy way. As I type this, I am also routing my next run. Having a few weeks in Bay Ridge, I am looking forward to running the shore promenade with a view of my majestic bridge, the Verrazano-Narrows.

According to Cedars-Sinai, “Chickpeas are packed with magnesium, fiber, and protein. Magnesium speeds message transmission in your brain and helps relax blood vessels, allowing more blood to feed your brain.” So, since the power of my brain energy is fuel to my plans for health and fitness, I leave you today with this amazing brainfood recipe. It’s a healthy quick fix, enjoy!

“Brain Food: Brain-Building Chickpea Sandwich.” Cedars-Sinai Blog. Cedars-Sinai, 18 Jan. 2017. Web. 03 June 2017.

Leave a comment